Detention Center


The Teton County Detention Center is located at 175 South Willow Street in Jackson, Wyoming. Construction of the Detention Center was completed in 1986 with a 35 bed capacity. In 2003 10 beds were added to raise the capacity to the current level of 45. The Detention Center houses pre trial as well as sentenced inmates for the following agencies: Teton County Sheriff’s Office, Jackson Police Department, Wyoming Highway Patrol, Grand Teton National Park, Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming Game and Fish, and the United States Marshal's Office.

The Detention Center operates within the Support Services Division of the Sheriff’s Office. Guided by the Support Services Captain and four detention sergeants, detention officers and deputies are responsible for the care, custody and control of the inmate population. Inmates receive routine and emergency medical treatment, visitation privileges, voluntary church service, detention center library access, and Alcoholics Anonymous classes, if desired.

The Detention Center is staffed twenty four hours a day, three hundred and sixty five days a year. Four teams of dedicated detention sergeants, deputies, and officers make this possible. The detention staff works a rotating schedule consisting of four consecutive twelve hour shifts followed by four days off.

Within the first year of employment, detention officers complete basic training at the Wyoming Law Enforcement Academy (WLEA). In the WLEA detention officer training course, officers receive training in firearms, custody and control techniques, Taser, and other skills. This foundation of knowledge and skills is continued over time through constant agency sponsored training.  

Upon completion of the WLEA basic course, detention officers receive ongoing in-house training including but not limited to; firearms proficiency, cell extraction, handcuffing, First Aid/CPR, and restraint chair.


The staff of the Teton County Detention Center:

Sgt. Clint Frome Officer Peggy Ann Novy
Sgt. Adam Rainey Officer Heidee McKenzie
Administrative Sgt Troy Sutton Officer Matthew Evans
Deputy Rodney Wade Officer Dylan Spence
Deputy Rod Roberts Officer Liz Leosh
Deputy Bart Churches Officer JB Dulco
Deputy Neal Larson Kiel Lynch
Deputy Bret Bommer